1st Offense DWI, DUI & DWAI Lawyers In Albany, NY
Depending on your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level, fines and penalties can vary throughout New York State. Although you might have a clean record prior to this offense, New York State takes driving under the influence of any substance in a very serious manner. Each year there are loads of accidents, tragedies and fatalities that are a result of those driving under the influence. So that’s more than a valid reason for Albany’s court system to be so strict when it comes to sentencing. If you are charged or arrested for the first time in relation to a DWI, DUI or DWAI, your top priority should be getting in touch with us. Our lawyers at RCM Law Offices have plenty of experience minimizing sentences and even getting cases dropped in relation to DUI charges. Here’s what to expect:
The charges can vary depending on the age of the driver, type of license and his or her BAC level. The legal limit is .08.
- Automatic suspension of driving privileges for 6 months
- License reinstatement fees after 6-month period
- Alcohol counseling course
- Possible installation of an ignition interlock device
*If you refuse a breathalyzer exam at the time of the traffic stop, your license will automatically be revoked for one full year.
Although there is no minimum jail-time specific to first time offenders, it’s subject to the nature of the case and discretion of the judge. You may face fines in the amounts of $500 to $1000 and fines of $1000 to $2500 if your BAC level was found to be above .18.